When you love your job, you never have to work a day in your life

It dawned on me last year that I enjoyed my job.

There wasn’t a lightbulb moment or epiphany. Not that I condone any of the next sentence to anyone… but. It was simply a warming feeling that I was checking my emails late in the evening or the weekend and it simply didn’t bother me.

The line between work and life had been blurred whilst both were moving in a positive direction. In life at home, I had long term goal along with several good projects coming to fruition. Work was a more tangible achievement, where I had hit my targets, exceeded them to be precise. Progressed in my leadership skills and generally gained a lot more recognition and respect from my professional peers.

Screen Shot 2017-07-24 at 21.32.19.png

I was on cloud nine. Everything just seemed to lock into place, at some points I thought that I had won the life / work lottery. Work seemed to bring out the best in me and had a glowing positive impact in my life. I felt like everything I touched turned to gold.

Screen Shot 2017-07-24 at 21.35.05.png

Life will always throw ups and downs at you. Reflecting on how you react and respond to these ups and downs will shape your character and build a solid foundation.

The highs were astronomical. However, there were times where there was a permanent rain cloud above my head, I’d ask myself, “This can surely not last forever.” Which as an early 20 year old, I could never come to terms with.

Screen Shot 2017-07-24 at 21.37.56.png

More recently, there has been a lot of change in all aspects of my life.

As per my last post, I lost my beloved Mum. A strong hold in my life. She was my all and I think about the loss every single day.

Where life pulls at you, I reflect on work and how that can pull me through. The job I do is built on solid foundations and relationships. I am not afraid to say that I excel at my role and that I am a role model within my team. When someone smothers their ego and tells you that you are doing well, that little part of recognition is just a warm and comforting feeling that you are doing well.

This occasional pat on the back is not something that I actively seek, it’s a nod. It’s a sense check. It’s an approval that you are achieving and taking people with you along the way.

Whether it’s suppliers, colleagues or people I have just met, I always get a buzz in what I currently do.

There is an air of uncertainty within my role currently as my Company is restructuring their organogram on a large scale. However, I agree with this aggressive and drastic move, because I believe in my business leaders and that it will move the business in the right direction to become even greater than it is.

Screen Shot 2017-07-24 at 21.44.47.png

The way I look at it is that it’s simply another stepping stone in my career.

Where I am currently, I realise that I am in a lucky place. A balance between hard work, results and an amazing journey that I am experiencing.

The last two years in this role has flown by. That is purely down to the fact that I feel like somedays I don’t work. Not because I refuse to complete a spreadsheet or run reports or send emails. It’s because everything that I do, doesn’t seem like a chore.

I realise that you can love your job. You can enjoy and make friends at work. You can feel like it’s all good.

Let this be a lesson to all you readers, chase that dream but enjoy the moment.

Leave a Reply

